Friday, August 08, 2008

Get yourself down to the Covent Garden night market!




Every Thursday and Friday evening for the next few weeks, Covent Garden's piazza is hosting a fantastic night-time food and produce market. I was able to pop down there last night and I can report it's well worth a visit.

Fresh oysters, roast beef rolls, roast pork sandwiches (carved from a whole spit-roast pig), Jewish deli food, cakes, ice creams, breads and chocolates are just some of the goodies on offer.

Sausage-wise, there's a German Deli stand selling a variety of pre-packed Teutonic sausages as well hot Bratwurst rolls with sauerkraut (review to follow, hopefully). I bought a packet of kaesekrainer from here to try at home and will review them at a later date.

Carluccio's has a stand selling a variety of dishes including Italian salsicce sandwiches and there are several stands selling chorizo and salami.

Another stand worth checking out is Manor Farm and their game sausages. I bought two from the tireless girl working on the stand who looked like she'd been grilling sausages all day: the duck, orange and apricot, and the venison and red wine. The Venison sausage was interesting - its tastes exactly like a hamburger with a slight livery note which is is quite bizarre. The duck sausage I found a bit baffling as, try as I might, I could not taste duck, orange or apricot in it. I'm convinced I was given the wrong sausage as one of the guys behind the stand assured me the sausage is supposed to contain 65% duck. Never mind, I'll go back for a second try.

UPDATE: On my second visit I tried 3 more sausage sandwiches and can recommend all of them: The bratwurst hot dog from the German Deli stand; The pigeon and peach sausage in a roll from the Manor Farm Game stall and the Tuscan sausage sandwich from the Carluccio's stall (photos at top).

If you get there early enough there are also some cookery demonstrations (details here). But if it's just the food you're interested in, here's a full list of stallholders and some photos from last night. Enjoy!:

Traders:
Simpson’s Quality Meat – Prime and interesting game including, pigeon, venison, wild boar, and the currently ‘trendy’ grey squirrel
Thames fisherman who sources all his fish from the Thames
Melt chocolates who’s famous truffles take 5 days to make
Willie Wonka will also be trading with his chocolate Venezuelan Black

Hot and Cold Food
Northfield Farm www.northfieldfarm.com – burgers, sausages and fresh farm meat
Rainha Santa www.rainhasanta.co.uk – hog roast
German Deli www.germandeli.co.uk – german deli selection
Cr̬me de la Crepe www.cremedelacrepe.co.uk Рgourmet crepes
Carluccios – Italian deli
Just Food www.justonline.co.uk – New company making seasonal produce puff pastry tartlets
Clos Maggiore – French produce, also will do kitchen demo

Fresh Produce
Sporeboys www.sporeboys.com – raw and cooked mushrooms
Ash Green Organics www.aashgreenorganics.com – organic veg and fruit, and apple juice
Tomato Stall www.thetomatostall.co.uk – fresh tomatoes direct from IoW farm
City Veggies www.cityveggies.co.uk – seed grown culinary herbs in pots and window boxes

Cheese and Deli
Norbiton Fine Cheese www.norbitoncheese.co.uk – small farm cheeses
Grove Farm – dairy farm specialises in unpasteurised produce
Rowan Tree Goats www.rowantreegoats.co.uk – Goat produce
Iberica London www.ibericalondon.co.uk – Spanish produce, live carving
The French Store – French staples and store cupboard
Prelibato www.prelibato.com – Specialist Italian deli – fresh truffles
Le Marche du Quartier - paella
Wild Beef – wild beef from Devon moors
76 Portland Place Restaurant – head chef to do seafood stall and demo
McManus Oysters – fresh oysters
Primal Snacks www.primalsnacks.com – locally sourced biltong
Derreensillach Smokehouse – oak smoked fish from Ireland

Specialist Produce
The Olive Bar – olives, feta, other deli foods
Apulia Blend – Italian oils, truffles and vinegars
English Preserves www.englishpreserves.co.uk – small batch makers of handmade jams
Herbs & Spice www.herbspice.co.uk – spices and herbs, oils and chillies
De-Gustibus www.degustibus.co.uk – handmade breads
Teapig www.teapig.co.uk – specialist exotic teas

Patisserie, Cakes and Pastry
Artisan Foods www.artisan.co.uk – fresh baked biscuits, tarts and cakes
Violet Cakes www.violetcakes.co.uk – cupcakes (2 weeks)
Lavender Bakery www.lavenderbakery.co.uk – alternatives to cupcakes
Primrose Bakery www.primrosebakery.org.uk – cupcakes (2 weeks)
Gourmet Candy Company www.gourmetcandycompany.com – sweets
Cinnamon Tree Bakery – trade English biscuits
Amesha Sweets – Middle East pastries
Rummuna www.rummanco.co.uk – Jamaican pickles and preserves
Simply Ice Cream

Drinks
Choc Star – van serving chocolate drinks and treats ( 3 weeks)
CA PHE Vietnam – Vietnamese coffee
Quaffs www.quaffs.co.uk – specialist bottled beers
Burgil Coffee www.burgil.com – specialist coffee and soft drinks









3 comments:

alexthepink said...

I tried the pigeon and peach sausages too! Mmmm.... Couldn't find the demos though, hopefully better luck next week with the Hairy Bikers!

Leigh said...

great post - loads of info and not forgetting the all-important sausage and bread!!!

theboydonefood said...

The only bangers on my visit were the bratwurst, and I wasn't overly impressed. Too hot, and the bun too short. Also - not letting me do my own ketchup - what's that about?!?!